Warning: This post contains words and phrases that might be alien to people who doesn’t play the Warcraft custom map, Defense of the Ancients (DotA). Please read at your discretion. 

One of the greatest thing about DotA is that since it has become a competitive game, every little bit of details matter: The creep block at the start of the game; the creep denies to gain experience advantage; the last hits to gain economic advantage, the right timing in getting the rune to increase battle efficacy; juking the opponents into an ambush etc. There are just too many of them to list but all of these things matters in order to achieve victory. But when things get out of hands, this is where things get funny. 

Last night we had another fun game of DotA. Actually, funny is the appropriate word to use since the game last night probably featured the most number of memorable moves contained in just one game of DotA. 

Personally knowing the people that you are playing with is one of the things that is difficult to achieve with online games. If you know personally those people, you’ll know their strengths and weaknesses and you can either take advantage of it or put you at a disadvantage if you are not careful.

I have a friend who can be called a seasonal expert. He plays well but when it’s not his day, he does pretty entertaining things…and last night turns out to be one of those days.

Seeing as we had sufficient players, we decided to proceed with a full house LAN game.  We dropped the usual -apsp mode and just go on manually balancing the teams because it would be difficult to achieve balance due to how varied the skills of the people playing are. After the teams were finalized, I was assigned to the Scourge team. My teammates chose Naga Siren, Silencer, Witch Doctor, and Drow Ranger while I decided on Bradwarden, The Centaur Warchief, because of our team’s lack of a tank. The Sentinels chose Priestess of the Moon, Treant Protector, Lightning Revenant, Dwarven Sniper and, to much of his teams dismay, yuu chose Akasha, the Queen of Pain. The reason for his teams dismay is that he has never won a game using QoP and in all the games that he has used QoP, to put it simply, it was epic fail. 

The game opening was standard. I opted for the Dagger build to initiate the clash as well as for chasing purpose since the enemy has two blinkers. It was during mid-game when it got entertaining. 

The first major blooper was when top lane was being pushed by Mirana with me as the lone defender. The first tower was down and I was defending the second tower. I am aware that I will be ganked anytime soon but I stood my ground; I have confidence on my Dagger of Escape. As I was about to retreat to the safety of my tower after the Scourge creep wave has been quickly taken care of thanks to Mirana’s Starfall, I saw movement from near the bottom part of our second tower. It was Akasha running right straight to me as if the second tower doesn’t exist! I thought that it was an illusion but to my and everyone’s surprise, Akasha blinked, blinked right beside my hero and Shadow Striked my hero, a Centaur Warchief! I quickly press the “t” key to cast Stomp. It was a long 2.75 seconds. Mixed reactions resounded from the shop during that time period as my hero, with the help of the second Scourge tower, hacked the stupefied Akasha.

Alas, this is actually a long due post and because of the length of time, I forgot what happened next. 

Original draft date: December 3, 2008.

